Finnmark – where dreams become reality

Facts about Finnmark

Finnmark County is situated in the extreme north east of the country. Of all counties in Norway, it has the largest area (48.637 square kilometres) and the fewest inhabitants. The Norwegian State used to own most of the territory of Finnmark (95%) but in July 2006 its property was transferred to the Finnmark Estate Agency.

Traditionally the North Cape is considered the northernmost point of Europe but in fact Kinnarodden at the Nordkyn peninsula is the northernmost point of the mainland. The easternmost point is the island of Hornøya in Vardø municipality. Finnmark borders on Troms County, the Arctic Ocean, the Barents Sea, Finland and Russia.

Finnmark has 19 municipalities. Six of these are townships: Alta (town status in 2001), Southern Varanger (the municipal centre of Kirkenes was given town status in 1998), Nordkapp (Honningsvåg was given town status in 1996), Hammerfest (1789) Vadsø (1833) and Vardø (1789). The other municipalities are: Berlevåg, Båtsfjord, Gamvik, Hasvik, Karasjok/Kárasjoga, Kautokeino/Guovdageaidnu, Kvalsund, Lebesby, Loppa, Måsøy, Nesseby/Unjargga, Porsanger and Tana/Deanu.

The largest urban areas are Alta, Hammerfest and Kirkenes. Vadsø is the county capital and the centre of both the State Administration and the Finnmark County Authority. Since 2007 there has been an increase of the number of inhabitants of Finnmark. The main reasons for this are both a birth rate surplus and increased immigration. The 1st of January 2014 Finnmark had 75 207 inhabitants.

Other facts:

Highest mountain: Øksfjordjøkelen (1175,4/1204 metres over sea level). Source: Norwegian Mapping Authority.
Largest lake: the Iešjávri (68 km2)
Longest river: the Tana river (369km, Norwegian/Finnish) and the Pasvik river (387 km, Norwegian/Russian/Finnish)
Flower of the county: cloudberry
Bird of the country: grouse
Stone type of the county: Alta slate and quartzite